main image
What's in Store
Various Artists
The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12A: 1972
Disc 1
1. A Simple Game - Four Tops 
2. L.A. (My Town) - Four Tops 
3. Our Favorite Melody - Jimmy Ruffin 
4. You Gave Me Love - Jimmy Ruffin 
5. A Breath Taking Guy - The Marvelettes 
6. Youíre The One For Me Bobby - The Marvelettes 
7. Iím Someone Who Cares - The Originals 
8. Once I Have You (I Will Never Let Go) - The Originals 
9. Iím Someone Who Cares - The Originals [stereo promo version] 
10. Out In The Night - Blue Scepter 
11. Gypsy Eyes - Blue Scepter 
12. Out In The Night - Blue Scepter [stereo promo version] 
13. What It Is? - The Undisputed Truth 
14. California Soul - The Undisputed Truth 
15. Feel Like Giviní Up - Posse 
16. Take Somebody Like You - Posse 
17. Take A Look Around - The Temptations 
18. Smooth Sailing (From Now On) - The Temptations 
19. Take A Look Around - The Temptations [stereo promo version] 
20. I Want To Be Humble - The Devastating Affair 
21. My Place - The Devastating Affair 
22. I Want To Be Humble - The Devastating Affair [stereo promo version] 
23. Rockiní Robin - Michael Jackson 
24. Love Is Here And Now Youíre Gone - Michael Jackson 
Disc 2
1. Can You Give Me Love With A Guarantee - Gladys Knight & The Pips 
2. If You Gonna Leave (Just Leave) - Gladys Knight & The Pips 
3. Can You Give Me Love With A Guarantee - Gladys Knight & The Pips [stereo promo version] 
4. Love Isnít Here (Like It Used To Be) - Frankie Valli 
5. Poor Fool - Frankie Valli 
6. Love Isnít Here (Like It Used To Be) - Frankie Valli [second pressing] 
7. Poor Fool - Frankie Valli [second pressing] 
8. Walk In The Night - Jr. Walker & The All Stars 
9. I Donít Want To Do Wrong - Jr. Walker & The All Stars 
10. Take Me Clear From Here - Edwin Starr 
11. Ball Of Confusion (Thatís What The World Is Today) - Edwin Starr 
12. Iím Gonna Get You (Part II) - G.C. Cameron 
13. Iím Gonna Get You (Part I) - G.C. Cameron 
14. Help Me Make It Through The Night - Gladys Knight & The Pips 
15. Mr. Fix-It Man - The Sisters Love 
16. Youíve Got To Make The Choice - The Sisters Love 
17. Taos New Mexico - R. Dean Taylor 
18. Shadow - R. Dean Taylor 
19. The Zoo (The Human Zoo) - The Commodores 
20. Iím Looking For Love - The Commodores 
Disc 3
1. Whatíd I Say - Rare Earth 
2. Nice To Be With You - Rare Earth 
3. Whatíd I Say - Rare Earth [stereo promo version] 
4. Let Me Run Into Your Lonely Heart - Eddie Kendricks 
5. Eddieís Love - Eddie Kendricks 
6. Eddieís Love - Eddie Kendricks [promo version] 
7. Me And Bobby McGee - Thelma Houston 
8. No Oneís Gonna Be A Fool Forever - Thelma Houston 
9. What It Is, What It Is - G.C. Cameron 
10. You Are That Special One - G.C. Cameron 
11. Little Bitty Pretty One - The Jackson 5 
12. If I Have To Move A Mountain - The Jackson 5 
13. Automatically Sunshine - The Supremes 
14. Precious Little Things - The Supremes 
15. Itís The Same Old Love - The Courtship 
16. Last Row, First Balcony - The Courtship 
17. Itís The Same Old Love - The Courtship [stereo promo version] 
18. Nihaa Shil Hozho (I Am Happy About You) - Xit 
19. End? Ė Xit 
20. Nihaa Shil Hozho (I Am Happy About You) Ė Xit [stereo promo version] 
21. I Canít Quit Your Love - Four Tops 
22. Happy (Is A Bumpy Road) - Four Tops 
23. I Can Make It Alone - Vincent DiMirco 
24. Come Clean - Vincent DiMirco 
Disc 4
1. Superwoman (Where Were You When I Needed You) - Stevie Wonder 
2. I Love Every Little Thing About You - Stevie Wonder 
3. Itís Too Much For Man To Take Too Long - Eric & The Vikings 
4. Time Donít Wait - Eric & The Vikings 
5. Itís Too Much For Man To Take Too Long - Eric & The Vikings [stereo promo version] 
6. Long Way From Home - Howl the Good 
7. Why Do You Cry - Howl the Good 
8. Long Way From Home - Howl the Good [stereo promo version] 
9. Youíre The Man (Part 1) - Marvin Gaye 
10. Youíre The Man (Part 2) - Marvin Gaye 
11. I Wanna Be Where You Are - Michael Jackson 
12. Weíve Got A Good Thing Going - Michael Jackson 
13. Weíve Come Too Far To End It Now - Smokey Robinson & The Miracles 
14. Papa Was A Rolliní Stone - The Undisputed Truth 
15. Friendship Train - The Undisputed Truth 
16. Papa Was A Rolliní Stone - The Undisputed Truth [stereo promo version] 
17. Get Me Some Help - Chris Holland & T-Bone 
18. If Time Could Stand Still - Chris Holland & T-Bone  
19. Get Me Some Help - Chris Holland & T-Bone [stereo promo version] 
20. Tear It On Down - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas 
21. I Want You Back - Martha Reeves & The Vandellas 
22. Label Me Love - Different Shades of Brown 
23. Lifeís A Ball (While It Lasts) - Different Shades of Brown 
Disc 5
1. Mother Nature - The Temptations 
2. Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On - The Temptations 
3. Mother Nature - The Temptations [stereo promo version] 
4. Sail Away - Bobby Darin 
5. Hard Headed Woman - Bobby Darin 
6. I Canít Give Back The Love I Feel For You - Suzee Ikeda 
7. Mind, Body And Soul - Suzee Ikeda 
8. A Little More Trust - David Ruffin 
9. A Day In The Life, Of A Working Man - David Ruffin 
10. A Little More Trust - David Ruffin [stereo promo version] 
11. Money (Thatís What I Want) - Blinky 
12. For Your Precious Love - Blinky 
13. Groove Thang - Jr. Walker & The All Stars 
14. Me And My Family - Jr. Walker & The All Stars 
15. Lookiní Through The Windows - The Jackson 5 
16. Love Song - The Jackson 5 
17. Somebody Up There - The Blackberries 
18. But I Love You More - The Blackberries 
19. To Know You Is To Love You Ė Syreeta 
20. Happiness - Syreeta 
21. Somebody Oughtaí Turn Your Head Around - Crystal Mansion 
22. Earth People - Crystal Mansion 
Price: $75.98

RELEASE DATE: May 31, 2013
CD Edition limited to 7500 non-numbered limited edition copies.

The Complete Motown Singles, the acclaimed, long-running series encompassing every Motown single release of the Detroit era, begins its final phase this year with Volume 12A, a 5-disc set of the company’s output from the first half of 1972. The collection contains 113 remastered tracks with a 130-page book that chronicles the story of the year in which Motown uprooted from Hitsville and moved west. 

The Complete Motown Singles Vol. 12A: 1972 features Motown expanding into other creative areas. The Four Tops recorded “A Simple Game” in London with the Moody Blues, while the Jackson 5 and lead singer Michael respectively, covered the 1950s hits “Little Bitty Pretty One” and “Rockin’ Robin.” MJ also delivered “I Wanna Be Where You Are,” while Marvin Gaye, a year removed from his landmark album What’s Going On, recorded a politically-tinged single, “You’re The Man.”

Martha Reeves & the Vandellas released their final single, “Tear It On Down.” Smokey Robinson & the Miracles began their official goodbye with “We’ve Come Too Far To End It Now,” while Stevie Wonder had a new beginning, issuing the independently-minded single, “Superwoman” and producing his then-wife, Syreeta. The Commodores, a new group from Alabama, debuted on MoWest with the track “The Zoo (The Human Zoo).” Jr. Walker & the All Stars hit with the sublime “Walk In The Night.”

This volume features not only hits and B-sides, but rare tracks from a wide variety of artists: David Ruffin, the Supremes, the Temptations, Undisputed Truth, Blinky, Bobby Darin, the Devastating Affair, Eric & the Vikings, Thelma Houston, Rare Earth, Sisters Love, Edwin Starr, Frankie Valli, and more. And, as is expected in this series, Vol. 12A is in “album” style packaging, with a bonus 7” vinyl single – this time, with two songs by the Blackberries never actually issued as a 45. The book features two essays: an introduction by the twin brothers Russ and Ralph Terrana, two key members of the Motown engineering staff, and an overview by Susan Whitall, a longtime writer for The Detroit News, plus detailed track-by-track histories by co-producers Keith Hughes and Harry Weinger, and Grammy®-nominated Bill Dahl.


Price: $75.98