main image
What's in Store
Buddy Holly
Not Fade Away: The Complete Studio Recordings And More
Disc 1
1. My Two-Timiní Woman  
2. Iíll Just Pretend  
3. Take These Shackles From My Heart  
4. Footprints In the Snow  
5. Flower Of My Heart  
6. Door To My Heart 
7. Soft Place In My Heart  
8. Gotta Get You Near Me Blues  
9. I Gambled My Heart  
10. You And I Are Through  
11. Down The Line 
12. Baby, Letís Play House  
13. Down The Line  
14. You And I Are Through 
15. Baby, Itís Love 
16. Memories 
17. Queen Of The Ballroom 
18. Memories 
19. Moonlight Baby a/k/a Baby, Wonít You Come Out Tonight 
20. I Guess I Was Just A Fool 
21. Donít Come Back Knockiní 
22. Love Me  
23. Midnight Shift  
24. Midnight Shift (false start/alternate)  
25. Donít Come Back Knockiní (alternate)  
26. Donít Come Back Knockiní  
27. Blue Days, Black Nights 
28. Love Me  
29. Baby Wonít You Come Out Tonight  
30. I Guess I Was Just A Fool  
31. Itís Not My Fault  
32. Iím Gonna Set My Foot Down  
33. Changiní All Those Changes  
34. Rock-A-Bye Rock  
35. Because I Love You  
Disc 2
1. Rock Around With Ollie Vee  
2. Iím Changiní All Those Changes  
3. Thatíll Be The Day  
4. Girl On My Mind  
5. Ting-A-Ling  
6. Rock Around With Ollie Vee  
7. Modern Don Juan  
8. You Are My One Desire (false start) 
9. You Are My One Desire 
10. Gone (incomplete)  
11. Gone  
12. Gone (alternate take)  
13. Have You Ever Been Lonely (incomplete alternate) 
14. Have You Ever Been Lonely (alternate)  
15. Have You Ever Been Lonely  
16. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man  
17. Good Rockiní Tonight  
18. Rip It Up  
19. Blue Monday  
20. Honky Tonk  
21. Blue Suede Shoes  
22. Shake Rattle And Roll (partial)  
23. Bo Diddley  
24. Ainít Got No Home  
25. Holly Hop  
26. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man  
27. Bo Diddley  
28. Iím Looking For Someone To Love  
29. Thatíll Be The Day  
30. Last Night (undubbed)  
31. Maybe Baby (first version)  
32. Words Of Love  
33. Mailman Bring Me No More Blues  
34. Not Fade Away (alternate overdub)  
35. Not Fade Away  
36. Everyday  
Disc 3
1. Ready Teddy  
2. Valley Of Tears  
3. Thatíll Be The Day (greetings to Bob Thiele) 
4. Thatíll Be The Day (greetings to Murray Deutsch)  
5. Thatíll Be The Day (greetings to Bill Randle) 
6. Peggy Sue (alternate take)  
7. Peggy Sue  
8. Listen To Me  
9. Oh Boy (undubbed)  
10. Iím Gonna Love You Too  
11. Send Me Some Loviní (undubbed)  
12. Itís Too Late (undubbed)  
13. Oh Boy  
14. An Empty Cup (And A Broken Date)  
15. Rock Me My Baby  
15. Rock Me My Baby  
16. Youíve Got Love  
17. Maybe Baby  
18. Send Me Some Loviní  
19. Itís Too Late  
20. Tell Me How  
21. Little Baby  
22. (Youíre So Square) Baby I Donít Care  
23. Look At Me  
24. Mona (rehearsal)  
25. Mona (version 1)  
26. Mona (version 2)  
27. Mona (version 3)  
28. Rave On  
29. Thatís My Desire (two false starts plus undubbed master)  
30. WellÖAll Right WellÖAll Right  
31. Foolís Paradise (alternate take 1)  
32. Foolís Paradise (alternate take 2)  
33. Foolís Paradise (undubbed master)  
Disc 4
1. Think It Over (false start & rehearsal take)  
2. Think It Over (undubbed alternate)  
3. Think It Over (undubbed master)  
4. Take Your Time (false start & alternate take)  
5. Take Your Time  
6. Foolís Paradise  
7. Think It Over  
8. Lonesome Tears  
9. Itís So Easy  
10. Heartbeat  
11. Loveís Made A Fool Of You (undubbed)  
12. Early In The Morning  
13. Now Weíre One (fragment)  
14. Now Weíre One  
15. Come Back Baby  
16. Reminiscing (undubbed) 
17. True Love Ways (mono mix) 
18. True Love Ways (stereo mix) 
19. It Doesnít Matter Anymore (mono)  
20. It Doesnít Matter Anymore (stereo)  
21. Raining In My Heart (mono)  
22. Raining In My Heart (stereo)  
23. Moondreams (mono)  
24. Moondreams (stereo)  
25. Youíre The One  
26. Thatís What They Say (w/fragment)  
27. What To Do  
28. Peggy Sue Got Married  
29. That Makes It Tough  
30. Crying, Waiting, Hoping 
31. Learning The Game 
32. Wait Till The Sun Shines Nellie  
Disc 5
1. Slippiní And Slidiní (slow version #1) 
2. Slippiní And Slidiní (slow version #2)  
3. Slippiní And Slidiní (fast version)  
4. Drown In My Own Tears (fragment)/Buddy & Maria Elena talking in apartment  
5. Dearest (alternate take)  
6. Dearest  
7. Untitled Instrumental (a/k/a Buddyís Guitar/listed as ďTremolo InstrumentalĒ)  
8. Love Is Strange  
9. Smokey Joeís Cafť  
10. Peggy Sue Got Married  
11. Crying, Waiting, Hoping  
12. Thatís What They Say (version 2)  
13. What To Do  
14. Learning The Game  
15. That Makes It Tough  
16. Baby Wonít You Come Out Tonight  
17. Because I Love You  
18. Changiní All Those Changes  
19. Iím Gonna Set My Foot Down  
20. Itís Not My Fault  
21. Rock-A-Bye Rock  
22. Brown-Eyed Handsome Man  
23. Bo Diddley  
24. What To Do  
25. Peggy Sue Got Married  
26. Crying, Waiting, Hoping  
27. That Makes It Tough  
28. Thatís What They Say  
29. Learning The Game  
30. Reminiscing  
31. Wait Till The Sun Shines Nellie  
32. Dearest (version 2) 
33. Slippiní And Slidiní (slow version 2) 
Disc 6
1. Baby Letís Play House (I Wanna Play House With You)  
2. Down The Line  
3. Wait Tilí The Sun Shines Nellie (overdub version 2)  
4. Reminiscing  
5. Flower Of My Heart  
6. Door To My Heart  
7. Soft Place In My Heart  
8. I Gambled My Heart  
9. Gotta Get You Near Me Blues  
10. Gone (version 3)  
11. Rip It Up  
12. Honky Tonk  
13. Blue Suede Shoes  
14. Shake Rattle And Roll  
15. You And I Are Through  
16. Baby Itís Love  
17. Memories  
18. Queen Of The Ballroom  
19. Loveís Made A Fool Of You  
20. Wishing (mono) 
21. Wishing (stereo) 
22. Maybe Baby  
23. Thatís My Desire  
24. Have You Ever Been Lonely (version 1)  
25. Good Rockiní Tonight  
26. Blue Monday  
27. Ainít Got No Home  
28. Holly Hop  
29. Slippiní And Slidiní  
30. Youíre The One 
31. Love Is Strange  
32. (Ummm, Oh Yeah) Dearest  
33. Smokey Joeís Cafť  
Price: $119.76
SITE PRE-SALE DATE: 10/16/2009
SITE SHIP DATE: 10/30/2009

The great and highly influential Buddy Holly had a relatively brief three year professional recording career.  However, because of his enormous talent, enthusiasm for music, and the fortunate emergence of recording tape while he was quite young, we have been left with a vast recorded legacy of 203 tracks that fill out the six CDs of this new limited edition Hip-O Select box set, “Not Fade Away/The Complete Studio Recordings And More.” 

    The 203 tracks range from his earliest recordings when 12 to 15 years old to  demos with Bob Montgomery; from his earliest recordings with The Crickets and a set of garage recordings to his first studio recordings for Decca in Nashville; from the Coral and Brunswick recordings and hits that made him famous to his heralded apartment tapes.  There are 6 previously unreleased tracks, including most of an August 1955 session, plus another 11 recordings previously unreleased in the U.S.  Furthermore, all of the original, locatable undubbed original recordings are here as well as all 57 of the overdubbed versions recorded both in New York City and Clovis months and even years after the “day the music died.”  Many of these recordings are also hard-to-find or are making their CD debut, having only appeared on the 1979 LP/cassette box set .

    The music on “Not Fade Away” is packaged in a yearbook size 80 page book, featuring numerous rare photos and session-by-session recording information.  There are also two sets of liner notes: “Legacy” by Billy Altman, which puts Buddy’s career in perspective, and “The Music” by Bill Dahl, a lengthy tome that traces the music session by session.   Consultant for this project is noted Holly historian Bill Griggs, with special thanks to Maria Elena Holly.   “Not Fade Away” was produced by Universal’s Andy McKaie.

Price: $119.76